- Kiribati Travel
- Micronesia
- Oceania Regions
- Oceania Travel


Photo Gallery


About Oceania
Photo Gallery
What to See
What to Do

Follow Us!

Oceania Travel Facebook Page
Oceania Travel Twitter Feed
Our Oceania Blog

Island Groups of Kiribati

Information about the three island groups of the independent nation of Kiribati. Those groups include the Gilbert Islands to the west, the Line Islands to the east, and the Phoenix islands situated between them. Note that Banaba Island is only Kirbati island that is not within one of these three groups.

The 16 Gilbert Islands
The Line Islands of Kiribati span the equator and they are all atolls or atolls made up of smaller islands. The Gilbert Islands include the Abaiang Atoll, the Abemama Atoll, the Aranuka, the Arorae Atoll, the Beru Atoll, the Butaritari Atoll, the Kuria Atoll,the Maiana Atoll,the Makin Atoll,the Marakei Atoll, the Nikunau Atoll, the Nonouti, the Onotoa Atoll, the Tabiteuea Atoll, the Tamana Atoll, and the Tarawa Atoll. The Gilbert Islands are the most westerly of Kiribati's three island groups, but note that isolated raised coral island known as Banaba Island is the Most westerly of Kiribati's islands.

The 8 Phoenix Islands
The Phoenix Islands of Kiribati are all situated below the equator and they are all atolls or atolls made up of smaller islets. The Phoenix Islands include the Birnie Atoll, the Enderbury Atoll, the Kanton Atoll, the Manra Atoll, the McKean Atoll, the Nikumaroro Atoll, the Orona Atoll, and the Rawaki Atoll. The Phoenix Islands are located between the Gilbert Islands and the Line Islands.

The 8 Line Islands
The Line Islands of Kiribati span the equator and they are all atolls or atolls made up of smaller islands. The Line islands include the Caroline Atoll, the Flint Atoll, the Kiritimati Atoll, the Maiden Atoll, the Starbuck Atoll, the Tabuaeran Atoll, the Teraina Atoll, and the the Vostok Atoll, The Line Islands are the most easterly of Kiribati's three island groups.

Banaba: Kiribati's Isolated Island
Banaba Island is the only island or atoll in Kiribati that is not within one of Kiribati's three island groups.

Attractions in Kiribati

Kiribati Travel Guide

Micronesia Travel Guide

Regions of Oceania

See also:
Pictures of Oceania
Destinations in Oceania
Oceania Travel Guide

South Pacific Destinations:
American Samoa | Ashmore and Cartier | Australasia | Australia | Cook Islands | Fiji | French Polynesia | Guam | Hawaii | Kiribati | Marshall Islands | Melanesia | Micronesia | Micronesia Federated States | Nauru | New Caledonia | New Zealand | Niue | Norfolk Island | Northern Mariana Islands | Palau | Papua New Guinea | Pitcairn Islands | Polynesia | Samoa | Solomon Islands | Tokelau | Tonga | Tuvalu | Vanuatu | Wake Island | Wallis and Futuna Islands | Western Samoa |

SkateLog Forum
Scuba Doll
Hawaiian Music
Ask About Sports
Web Site Editor
Kathie Fry Dot Com
Pictures of Kathie
Venice Beach Skating
U.S. States
Arizona for Visitors
California for Visitors
Hawaii for Visitors
Nevada for Visitors
New Mexico for Visitors
U.S. Cities
Los Angeles for Visitors
Miami for Visitors
Do It In Long Beach
Continental Travel
Do It In Africa
Do It In Asia
Do It In Europe
Do It In Oceania
Do It In The Americas
More World Travel
Travel Guides International
Vietnam for Visitors
Do It In Thailand